Bears looking to get back on track

By Tamas Bodrog

Comment Staff

Sophomore Hung Huynh prepares to deliver the ball back across the net in a recent match for the Bridgewater State University men's tennis team. Jeremy Foote - Photo.
Sophomore Hung Huynh prepares to deliver the ball back across the net in a recent match for the Bridgewater State University men’s tennis team. Jeremy Foote – Photo.

 

The Bridgewater State University men’s tennis team is off to an up-and-down start this season as they are currently 2-3.

They started off the season with a 9-0 loss to Clark College, but followed it up with back-to-back wins against Wheelock College and Anna Maria College. But team hit another bump when they lost to Wheaton College 9-0 on March 25.

First-year head coach John Nestel isn’t worried about the losses, or the wins for that matter.

“I want everyone to play their best,” Nestel said. “My goal is improvement for everyone. It does not matter if you win or lose. I don’t put much weight on results. I just want all players to give 100 percent in both practices and matches.”

On Wednesday the Bears lost their second match in a row by dropping a 7-2 to decision to Johnson & Wales University.

Matt McGee joins the Bears this season as the only freshman on the roster. McGee has played at No. 5 singles and No. 4 singles this season, while also getting some playing time at No.3 doubles.

McGee has fared well in his first season in a Bears’ uniform.

“I never give less than 100 percent in every point,” McGee said. “I use to be nervous, but I expect it to be gone once I have greater experience playing college tennis.”

Senior captain Eric Johnson is off to a 2-2 start in singles play, while being 1-2 at No. 1 doubles with teammate junior Cody Farrell.

“Improvement is my key, I have to play one match at a time,” Johnson said. “This year I am trying to improve on my consistency.”

Johnson hopes by adding consistency to his game that he will perform well in both singles and doubles matches.

“My biggest weapon is my serve,” Johnson said. “In singles, I will focus on my consistency and changing the pace up, not just overpowering my opponent. In doubles, attacking the net is pivotal.”

Bridgewater State will try to take another step forward on Thursday when they travel to face Roger Williams University. The match is scheduled to begin at 3:30 p.m.

Tamas Bodrog is a Comment staff writer. Email him at tbodrog@student.bridgew.edu

Leave a Reply

